top of page
Search
  • Molly Freeman

Vinyl

Something that has always inspired me is music, I'm intrigued by the world of cover art especially album cover art/design. Over the last couple years I have collected vinyl albums from some of my favourite artists, these include some artwork/design that has really appealed to me and inspired me artistically.


Two of my favourites both musically and design wise are these below


AT.LONG.LAST.A$AP - A$AP ROCKY

PSYCHODRAMA - DAVE

The main imagery on A$AP'S album cover stood out to me, the exposure and angles in particular fascinate me and I love how the album looks vintage, the neutral colours all tie together creating a neat colour palette. There is a repetition of the top of his face above his face, this gives the overall album cover a disorientated 'trippy' illusion like feel.


On the cover of Dave's Pyschodrama album is more simplistic design and layout. The typography is something I'm really captivated by, the way it looks hand written with charcoal/crayon makes the album look much more personal/intimate, I believe this is how he intended it to be as listening to the music on the album the lyrics include some very in depth past life experiences, feelings and emotions.


The way its written looks quite severe, powerful and intense which again I think suits well with the messages in the music. Its includes many emotional lyrics and this is well portrayed in its overall design.


The imagery on the front cover is of a man presumably meant to be Dave with his head engulfed in flames, this is very strong imagery that really catches your attention. I think this shows the pain/trauma that is included in some of the songs. The foiling on the flames make it look very alive just as fire would be, I think this gives it the perfect finishing touch.


The strong blue and black colour scheme throughout the entire vinyl really brings it together making it one of my favourite vinyl designs, I think the colours go amazingly. Below is one of the inside sections of the vinyl which also includes this colour scheme, the foiled flames and the unique typography.

The inside disc also coincides with the design of the vinyl which makes it very pleasing on the eye to look at whilst it plays.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page